this is a commendable effort to translate old Hindustani film songs, which were compelling for the profundity of their lyrics primarily but also for their melody and rendition

Mr. & Mrs. 55 - Classic Bollywood Revisited!

In my opinion, I think one of the best parts about being a fan of old Hindi music is that it gives you a fun opportunity to brush up on your Urdu-Hindi language skills. From time to time, Mrs. 55 and I have decided that we will share some of our favorite song lyrics here and provide a glossary and translation so that everyone can follow along!

Our first song is “chalo ek baar phir se,” which is an absolute gem from the 1963 film Gumraah directed by B.R. Chopra. Arguably the best song of his career, this composition was rendered by Mahendra Kapoor, an excellent singer who ultimately carved a niche for himself in the industry after emerging from his initial fame as a Mohammed Rafi clone. The real star here, though, is Sahir Ludhianvi, who was truly one of the most gifted poets that has…

View original post 682 more words

About compulsive scribe

I am tired of listening to others who have made it, not because I lack the ability to live vicariously, but because I think we can learn as much, if not more, from those who havn't 'made it' and may never do so. And, what's more it could be a lot more fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. While at this, you would find this interesting. To give a proper perspective, you may like to add this also.

    “Caught stealing from ‘Songs of Yore’, two Harvard students sadden me.”

    http://www.songsofyore.com/caught-stealing-from-songs-of-yore-two-harvard-students/

    AK

  2. It may come as a shock to you that some parts of this translation has been lifted from my blog without acknowledging. I have written in detail here:

    http://www.songsofyore.com/caught-stealing-from-songs-of-yore-two-harvard-students/#more-1154

    I had sent a comment earlier also.

    AK

    • Thanks for letting me know AK. On a more positive note, this way I have become acquainted with your work/blog on old Indian film songs. I am a writer by interest and I listen to these songs for the lyrics as they are often very powerful.

Leave a Reply

