Blogging and literary fiction: foes or friends?

I find that I get sucked into worlds as if they were black holes or whirlpools; I can only ever focus on one project for long periods of time. For the past year I have been sucked into the idea of putting together my first novel, and so although I had started this blog with the best intentions – or perhaps re-started it, I don’t remember now, but I think it was the latter, with a new name etc. – and the promise of regular posts, I have not been able to keep the promise.

Writing, however, like other big things is a matter of faith, so I try again. One challenge to this faith has been on how to blog and write literary fiction at the same time as the two styles are very different and I worry about mixing up the two. As I write this I have had a tiny illumination that is making me see a bit of the way that would allow me to develop and keep the two styles without using the wrong style on the right platform. The other worry is the one about spoiling my style by blogging (this is a genuine worry for me) and the habits of long, arduous, pondering and constant re-writing that a novelist like me needs to solidify. One solution to these problems is to think of blogging as talking about my literary experiences – not merely the real challenge and comedy of writing and finishing my first novel, but also the experiences of the aspiring writer as a person involved in the writing process, and writing for the blog – quick, non-ponderous, easy, imperfect, non-literary, ninety-minutes a day.

I invite everyone to think of this post as a conversation and participate in it. My next post will be on the challenge of finishing the manuscript that I have been working on for the past three years…

About compulsive scribe

I am tired of listening to others who have made it, not because I lack the ability to live vicariously, but because I think we can learn as much, if not more, from those who havn't 'made it' and may never do so. And, what's more it could be a lot more fun!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging and literary fiction: foes or friends?

  1. Pingback: How rude! | Jaye Em Edgecliff

  2. I was just looking at this post, and I cannot quite remember what it was that made me think that I could contribute regularly to my blog as I tried to finish my manuscript. One more proof that failure should be a writer’s best friend. The funny thing is that I still want to come back and write a quality blog, ‘soon’! I guess I am living Churchill’s mantra for success: “going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.” I do feel like coming back and writing something. I do, I do, I do. But I worry I might steal my own thunder (from my manuscript/s). I guess it would be easier if I took my writing less seriously. But how can one write serious fiction without taking their writing seriously?

Leave a Reply

